Warning: Function get_magic_quotes_gpc() is deprecated in /var/www/trogworld.com/public_html/forums/includes/class_core.php on line 1960
Comp problems. [Archive] - TrogWorld

PDA

View Full Version : Comp problems.

Protoss119
01-12-2007, 05:49 PM
Just a few minutes ago, very wierd events forced me to reboot my comp. TWICE.

The first was when I was in WorldEdit working on a map. All of a sudden, the monitor screwed up with pink and yellow and purple everywhere and then I got hit with a dark-blue screen of death which, besides being mixed with purple, said something about dumping "physical memory" before it rebooted. I'm not a hardware expert, so sue me.

The second was shortly after the first reboot. I ran Warcraft III and was about to play a custom map when the monitor blacked out on me and it beeped a couple times when I tried to reboot it. I was forced to shut it down, then start it up again and here I am.

I suspect malicious software to be involved, so I'm running AVG Virus Scan. Personally, I favor McAfee over AVG, but I had no choice in the matter when the new comp was made, so...

Protoss119
01-12-2007, 06:15 PM
AVG found nothing. Maybe if I scan my Frozen Throne disk, it'll find something. Otherwise, I have my animated desktop to blame.

EDIT: And it is. I've already changed it; hopefully this'll put an end to the odd monitor.

Protoss119
01-12-2007, 07:37 PM
Wasn't the desktop - in fact, it was due to overheat. It happened again. Per Dad's advice, I shut it down and waited for a half-hour before starting it up again. We'll see what happens next.

Almuric
01-13-2007, 10:11 AM
My first suggestion was going to be heat, second was OS problems. This didnt sound like a virus at all.

Protoss119
01-13-2007, 12:54 PM
It wasn't. <_< Apparently, it only occurs when WCIII is running. Odd.

Protoss119
01-15-2007, 06:49 PM